Transient Phenomena

Sometimes I use a different route for working out my painting. When working with this painting, my state of mind is different. Like all states of mind, this state of mind is also of transient nature. It needs to be identified and developed, and then transformed into action.

I have to be fully alert and keep this alertness and creative spirit alive with me. Start with random and haphazard placement of colour and shape and see the overall visual effects of the work. The painting effect changes from moment to moment when each stroke or placement of colour is made on the surface. Each attempt changes the visual effect of the painting into a different one.

I worked fast to make marks and strokes on the surface and to mix the colour that I wanted for the surface. From random strokes to purposeful strokes. I need concentration, inner mental image, artistic skills, knowledge and experience for that and a clear awareness of mind and thoughts.

I have to make many decisions quickly and make revisions again and again. Furthermore, I use various painting techniques and ways of expression that I feel correctly express what I have in mind. Any marks and strokes of colours on the canvas will change the existing visual effect that I have built earlier.


Transient Phenomena. 2011. Acrylic on canvas. 92 x 92 cm. Prabhakara Jimmy Quek.

5 comments
  1. studio41 said:

    this is really so emotive, Jimmy- I'd say beautiful, but it is deeper than that. I do really like this work. thank you for sharing this.

  2. sanshan said:

    It is like meditation isn't it? When you practice for years and years and learn correct technique then you can be truly mindful and in the moment. This painting shows that.

  3. Stardancer said:

    I would put this on a wall with lots of light, in a room where I feel the most peaceful.This painting makes me think of peace.:smile:

  4. Cynthia23 said:

    :happy: inside to see this outside :up:

  5. pabha said:

    Thank you all. I love your comments.:up: 🙂

Leave a comment